Skip to main content
Library Haul & Reading List 08/12/16

Library Haul & Reading List 08/19/16

The big news this week is that Broken Fate is going to be turned into an audio book! I don’t have a release date, yet, but I’ll let you know when I do. I know several of my readers have asked for an audio edition, so this will be great news for some of you!

It’s a sad week because the Olympics are almost over. I’ve loved every bit of them! At least the U.S. Open in tennis starts soon, so I’ll have something to keep my attention. I don’t know what I’ll do after it’s over, though. This summer has fed my sports addiction like no other. Olympic trials, tennis grand slams, the Olympics, and all the other summer sports have kept me so entertained. Going cold turkey in the fall might kill me. If you don’t hear from me after September, it’s because I’m in a hole going through withdrawals.

  • Truly, Madly, Guilty, by Liane Moriarty. I don’t have much hope for this one, but it’s so popular I figured I’d give it a read. This is one of those books that features horrible people being horrible to each other, with some kind of twist that you don’t see coming until the end. It seems to follow in the tradition of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, neither of which I liked. I’m not a fan of books where the characters are horrible people. I get enough of that in real life. But, as I said, this one is the current rage, so I’ll give it a go.
  • A World Without You, by Beth Revis. This is a YA novel about a kid who attends a boarding school for kids with special powers because he can travel in time. He falls in love with a girl, but when she dies, he must decide whether to live in the present or give in to his inner demons and live in the past. I’m kind of wondering whether these “powers” are real, or if they’re a metaphor for mental illness and the boarding school is really a mental hospital. Do we find out in the end that he can’t really travel in time, but instead it’s a fantasy that protects him from pain? Either way, I’m intrigued enough to read it.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply